A Tall Glass of Almond Milk

My first post – so exciting! Check out the About section to learn more about me, my family and my inspiration to start a blog.

Maxton will be 8 weeks old this week and is growing like a weed! At his one month appointment he weighed 12 lbs 8 oz. He has his two month appointment this week (which will include vaccinations, poor guy) and my guess is he will be over 14 lbs. I find myself changing his diaper every hour to get through the packages of size 1 diapers I have left, which are starting to look like “tighty whities” on him. Did I mention he only wore newborn diapers for a week? Even that was pushing it…

For the past several days I have been researching milk protein allergies in breastfed babies, and colic. My little one has been a very fussy little boy in recent weeks. He cries most of the time he is awake and has more than enough gas for all of us. Don’t get me wrong, he likes to show off his gummy smiles to us all the time, but we know something isn’t right in his little (not so much) belly. Poor little guy.

I am on week three of no dairy, and haven’t really noticed much of a difference in him. Some days are better than others – he is sleeping 5+ hour stretches at night, so I am thankful for that. Maybe it’s not dairy, perhaps it’s soy, or wheat, I am willing to cut them all out of my diet to help my little munchy.

There was no noticeable difference when we tried gripe water, so we have moved onto to Ovol drops. *Fingers crossed*

Lessons learned this week: 1.  A LOT of products contain some form of “milk ingredient” or lactose and 2. You will do ANYTHING to help your little one feel better.

One thought on “A Tall Glass of Almond Milk

  1. Congratulations on starting your new blog, Helen. It’s agreat way to document the adventures of parenting and a good reference for the future. Yes, you would do anything to help your baby . Hope you find out what’s making him so grumbly and rumbly. Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

