Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

You read and hear a lot about what to expect after your baby is born. The changes you will experience emotionally, physically and mentally.

In all the books I read, only one mentioned the following: “If you are a nursing mother, your hair may begin falling out around the three-month mark.” MAY? WILL! It was like clock work, when Maxton turned three months, I began shedding like a dog. Luckily my sister-in-law, who has two beautiful babies, warned me about this – I was prepared. She said it would fall out, and there would be a lot. She was right.

I took a picture of what collected in the drain of my shower the other day, and the aftermath of brushing my hair – I decided it is too¬†frightening to show. Steve looked concerned but I assured him I would not go completely bald, despite the copious amounts of hair I am losing. Maxton isn’t helping the situation by pulling fistfuls at a time. Luckily I have always had a lot of hair, so I could stand to thin it out a bit…as long as it all comes back.

2 thoughts on “Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

  1. I’m glad you were somewhat prepared for the hairmonster in your drain. Crazy, eh? It might not stop for a few months. :0 Isnt having babies glamourous?

Leave a Reply

