Makeshift Monday

Happy Monday, and Happy Chinese New Year!

2012 is the 4709th Chinese New Year (some believe it is the 4710th), and is the year of the Dragon.

For China, the Dragon is a symbol of power from Heaven. According to Chinese astrology, those born in the year of the Dragon are said to be strong, eccentric, intellectual, self-assured, and passionate.

The celebration lasts 15 days, with each day holding special significance. Before these celebrations commence, each home is cleaned to sweep away ill fortune and to welcome good luck. The celebration begins New Year’s Eve with traditional feasts with family and friends, followed by fireworks at midnight. The festivities conclude on the 15th day with Lantern Festival, during the full moon – what beautiful traditions!

Lesson of last week: I forgot to clean my house.

2 thoughts on “Makeshift Monday

  1. I forget to clean my house quite regularly…but we have lots of hats lol. I don’t think you know, but dragons are my absolute favourite, they always have been! I have a stuffed dragon that I’ve had since I was 4, I guess he’ll be Henry’s now 🙂 Love the post!

Leave a Reply

