The Vegas Stroller

Steve and I have been on a hunt for a decent (but not overly expensive) umbrella stroller to bring to Vegas with us (only three more weeks!). We decided bringing our $550 stroller on the plane with us was not a good idea – they don’t exactly handle items delicately.

After a lot of window shopping, and research, we purchased this:

The Safety 1st Lux Zune Stroller

We purchased it on sale at Babies R Us for $89.97, regular $129.99. I thought it was a great deal, and was impressed with it, once assembled. You can’t have high expectations for an umbrella stroller. You have to accept the limited storage and coverage, in exchange for its compactibility and light weight.

I decided to take it for a stroll (pardon the pun) around the block and was very disappointed. The left front wheels barely touched the ground when moving. When I got home, I swapped the front wheels and the same thing happened. I figured the left side of the frame must have been bent and would exchange it for another one.

For those of you that shop at Babies R Us, you know you pretty much have to give up your first-born before they will take something back without a hassle. I had my bill and it was less than 15 days, and they still gave me a hard time. The sales associate took it out of the box and tested it herself, and finally agreed it was defective (duh). So they brought out another one, and I wanted to try it before leaving the store. So I assembled it on my own, and the same thing happened! I knew it was just a crappy stroller and got a full refund. The stroller I originally purchased was put on the floor with a clearance tag for $49.99. I saved one Mom from purchasing it. Ha-ha.

The next one that caught my eye was this one:

The Graco Ipo Stroller with Weather Shield

You can find this stroller at Sears for $139.97. I loved the weather shield on this stroller, and knew it would be perfect for the hot Nevada sun. The kicker? The price. I did not want to have to spend that much, and neither did Steve. So the search continued…

I finally settled on this:

The Combi Cosmo EX Stroller

I purchased this stroller from the Costco website. This stroller retails for $134.99 at Costco ($169.99 at Babies R Us), but I purchased it on sale for $119.99. It arrived today, and I must say, I am impressed. I read quite a few bad reviews for it so I was skeptical before it arrived. The frame is not the strongest, again, it’s only an umbrella stroller but it seems to steer really well (around our house at least). Maxton looked comfortable in it, and I liked the little snack tray that it came with, as most umbrella strollers don’t. I also liked the handle on it, if only it had a parent tray – I ended up purchasing a removable cup holder for it. The storage underneath is limited, but there is a decent storage pocket on the back of the visor – it could hold a wallet, keys and a phone. It weighs less than 14lbs and folds up easily, with a carrying strap – bonus!

The real test will be a walk around the neighbourhood, but so far the Cosmo Combi is the winner!

3 thoughts on “The Vegas Stroller

  1. We paid an arm and a leg for a Maclaren umbrella stroller but it was soooo worth it… shoulder strap, sturdy frame, good folding, enough storage, drink holder, rain cover, warranty. We used it solidly for nearly 3 years but alas…didn’t take care of it properly (left it on our porch one too many times out of sheer laziness) and it got mouldy so we had to pitch it 😦 We had a gift certificate for Toys R Us and got a Peg Perego umbrella stroller but it pales in comparison. So sad we didn’t get another Maclaren. Hope your stroller serves you well!

    • They are great strollers for sure. We spent a lot on our actual everyday stroller, so I didn’t want to go over the top. The frame is actually sturdy, I’m just use to my super-duper-awesome stroller. Hahs. That’s unfortunate yours was ruined, especially at that price.

Leave a Reply

