Daycare Dilemma

A few weeks ago I mentioned in a post that Steve and I were looking at daycares for Maxton. I never could have imagined how difficult this decision would be. There are so many things to consider, but above all else, who do you want to raise your child eight hours a day, five days a week? Public daycare? Private daycare? A family member? Montessori?

I remember when I was about six months pregnant, I had coworkers approaching me and asking me if I had my name on any daycare waiting lists. “You don’t?! Helen you have to, the wait can be longer than a year…” I had a hard time processing this idea. My son/daughter was still in gestation mode and I had to make the daycare-decision already? So, out of fear (and peer pressure), I called all of our local daycare centres and put my name on their waiting lists.

When Maxton was about eight months old, I (seriously) started thinking about what type of daycare would be the best fit for him. We decided public daycares were out. It was a personal decision, and we just felt it would not be the right fit for him.  I started asking around about private daycares, and if anyone could recommend one.

After visiting some great in-home daycares (and some not-so-great ones), we have narrowed it down to two. The first one is a place close to work and home, but the space is quite small and is in a basement. She has done a great job of making it bright and colourful, but I was just hoping for something with more natural light, especially during the winter. She was very nice and Maxton got right into the toys, and seemed comfortable with her. The second daycare was a bright, open space with lots of toys and activities both indoors and outdoors. Close friends of ours have been sending their son there for a year and a half now, and he loves it. It has had such a positive influence on him, and that is what we want for Maxton. The only problem is, it’s a 15-20 min drive out of our way. It’s not on the way to work for Steve or I, which means adding a 30+ minute commute to work and back. Most of our friends/family have been encouraging us to choose the one that is close to work and home for convenience purposes. My work is a ten minute drive from home, and in the winter, driving Maxton to daycare, could make it more like a 45min drive. I know what you’re thinking – why would I do that? At the end of the day, it’s about what is best for Maxton, and where we think he would grow and fit in the best. Steve has yet to see the one further from our house, but we will be going together next week. I think we both know she will be the one we choose, I just wish she was a little closer to home.

In a perfect world I wouldn’t have to make this decision at all, but at the end of the day it will better prepare him for school, and will build all of our immune systems with all the germs he will be bringing home!

One thought on “Daycare Dilemma

  1. Pingback: Daycare Dilemma: Solved | Mama's Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

