Maxton’s Baby Steps

When I decided to start a blog, it took me a while to come up with a title for it. I wanted it to be something original and witty, but most importantly, to describe exactly how I was feeling. I was a new mom walking on unfamiliar territory – it was (and still is) about trial and error, blunders and triumphs; and so, Mamas-baby-steps was born.

Well, on Friday (October 19), my baby took his first steps. I always wondered what I would feel in that moment. Would I cry? Laugh? Scream? Would I even be in the room when it happened? The answer is all the above. Steve and I were both in the room, and we managed to capture his first five-six steps on video. How great is that? We played back the clip over 15 times that night, feeling a sense of accomplishment as parents.

We weren’t the only ones who were proud – our little monkey was beaming as he fell into my arms after having taken his very first (unassisted) steps.

Earlier that day I was chasing him around in one of his walkers (which he absolutely loves), wondering when he would have the courage and confidence to let go.

He was all smiles the rest of the evening, and so were we.

Leave a Reply

