Haunted Dream House

I decided to check in with the NaBloPoMo Prompts to see what today’s “suggested topic” was. Some of them have appealed to me and some not so much, but I decided to go for the one today because it made me stop and think.

“Would you buy your dream house if the price was right BUT you also were told it was inhabited by ghosts?”

Seriously? NO!

I’m sure some of you will agree with my response, and others are asking: “Why not?! Who cares?”. It’s creepy and weird, end of story.

Don’t get me wrong, I like all those scary paranormal shows and ghost shows (in moderation), but I don’t need it to be my life. I don’t want to deal with the sounds of slamming doors, creaking floors, shadows out of the corner of my eye, or random voices. My life is entertaining enough without a spirit from beyond inhabiting my home.

Do I believe in ghosts? I don’t know. I’ve heard stories from close friends who I know wouldn’t make it up, and I had the odd experience myself, but I’m not going to knowingly walk into a “haunted house”.

When Steve and I first got together, we would stay up until 12am every Saturday to watch this show called Most Haunted. It was this British paranormal mystery (reality) TV show that investigated various “haunted” buildings, with a team of investigators and a skeptic, who would prove or disprove the haunting. What a great show to watch before going to sleep. We loved it – but even more, loved our Saturday night/early Sunday morning ritual.

Most of the time it scared the crap out of me. There is something even more scary about a British paranormal TV show than one filmed in Canada or the U.S.

So I would have to say no to the six bedroom, five bathroom, chef’s kitchen, indoor pool house.

Haunted houses are great on Halloween, but that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

