DIY Christmas Wreaths

Yesterday, we started decorating our home for Christmas. Steve was working on putting up some Christmas lights, while I tackled the decor on the inside. I don’t know about you, but I have to pretty much empty all of our Christmas boxes/bins before I start, because I can never remember what I have. In the end, I am still rearranging and moving figurines from one end table to another. I’m not alone, right?

Every year I swear that I won’t buy any more decor the following year, because I have enough – and every year I end up adding a thing or two to the house. (I’ll share more on that later this week.)

When we moved into our house, one thing I was looking forward to at Christmas was decorating our front door with some beautiful holiday wreaths. I never thought finding the perfect wreaths would be so challenging or expensive. Every wreathe that I loved was $35 + (which may not be so bad if you only need one), and I wasn’t prepared to spend that much. So, I decided why not make some?

Two years ago I purchased some plain wreaths from Lowes for around $6 each (on sale) and got to work. I collected some spare plastic ornaments and pine cones and started adding them to the wreaths. I used ornament hooks to attach them, to ensure they wouldn’t fall off.

The great thing about doing them yourself, is you can change them from year to year. The first year we moved in I had a red theme, last year a gold, and this year I decided to go with blue and silver.

They may not be as fancy and elaborate as some of the wreaths out there, but I am very happy with them (considering how little they cost me)! It’s an easy and fun DIY to save you some $ at Christmas time.

2 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Wreaths

  1. These look awesome Helen! The price tag is equally awesome. I never thought about it until I saw your picture – that people with double front doors would naturally need two wreaths. By making them yourself you’ve saved even more money.

Leave a Reply

