No Words

It’s been fairly quiet around here for the past few days. There was no Makeshift Monday post this week, thanks to my uncooperative internet. I decided I would blend that post with another one, later this week. Yesterday escaped me, and I needed time to build this post.

I’m sure you are all familiar with the tragedy that struck Newtown Connecticut, last Friday (December 14). It was a regular Friday for me, just playing with Maxton, getting his lunch ready. I received a text from a friend, asking if I had heard about the shooting at an elementary school in the U.S. I immediately turned on the news and could barely believe what I was seeing and hearing.

At first there was a lot of speculation as to what occurred. The media were confused, the public were confused, it even seemed as though the officers who were on the scene, were confused.

When I heard the confirmed death toll, 20 children, and 6 adults, I cried. I looked at my sweet little happy boy, and cried. I cried for the parents of those children, I cried for the families of those children, I cried for those children who are now angels looking down from above, and I cried for all the teachers and administrators, who put each and every childs’ life ahead of their own. I cried out of thanks, that my baby boy was safe in my arms, that afternoon.

I cannot put into words the sadness I feel for this senseless act. My heart goes out to all the families of those 26 victims, who went to school/work that morning, but never made it home that evening.

God bless those teachers/administrators who did everything they could to keep the children in their classrooms safe – some died doing so. To those sweet little six and seven-year olds, who were taken much too young, may you find peace. To the adults, who died protecting those children, may you also find peace.

Hallelujah – The Voice

Leave a Reply

