A Big Boy Room

I have mentioned a couple of times that we are working on designing/planning Maxton’s big boy room. When I was pregnant with Maxton, we kept the nursery gender neutral because we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl. After he was born, I added some blue touches here and there, to make it more baby-boy-like.

We decided to move Maxton into a new bedroom (which is currently a spare room), and cater it to his gender. Again, because we don’t know the gender of this baby, it make sense to keep the nursery a nursery.

I have finally decided on paint colours for his new room. I will be using a light blue (almost grey) on the upper part of the wall – Steve will put up a chair rail through the middle, and the bottom portion will be a darker blue. These swatches are pretty close to what I chose. The darker blue I purchased, and the lighter blue we have leftover from painting our bathroom last year.

img-thing

blue-color-kitchen-paint-colors-1

Before we can start painting, we need to clean out the bedroom – I have been dreading that and it’s hard to find the motivation with the nice weather we have been having. Now that I am past 27 weeks, I am feeling the motivation (or maybe it’s pressure). Even though the baby will be sleeping in our bedroom for the first few months, I would like Maxton moved into his new room before the baby comes, to ensure a smooth transition.

We have decided to keep Maxton in a crib, because he will still be under the age of two when we move him into the room. We will purchase another convertible crib so we can transition him to a day-bed shortly after, and eventually a double bed. I am just debating on the colour of furniture for his room.

The nursery is all espresso, and I was thinking the same for Maxton’s new room until I looked at a white crib on the weekend and thought maybe it would better suit the colours I have chosen. Steve seems to think white furniture is more “girly” and we should stick with the espresso; but, in my head the white seems to really pop when I envision the room. Any thoughts/opinions on this dilemma?

His new room has a MASSIVE closet, so we won’t have to put a dresser in his room, Steve is going to install some closet organizers to maximize the space. I am looking forward to that!

I am also going to purchase a little table and chairs set for room, probably from IKEA, in either white or espresso, depending on what we decide to go with. Also, some sort of storage unit for toys and books etc., again probably from IKEA.

I am looking forward to getting started with this project, and sharing all the details with you!

5 thoughts on “A Big Boy Room

  1. Pingback: Maxton’s Big Boy Room – Fabric & Colour | Mama's Baby Steps

  2. Hey there this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

