Steve Turns 30!

I am finally getting around to posting about Steve’s 30th surprise birthday party. Between the computer issues and life in general, it took way too long. Although today is my actual birthday I wanted to get this post up before I shared my birthday with you. I’ll post on that and our weekend later this week.

Steve turned 30 last Sunday. Wow. It is funny to think about how I have known him for six years, and how much both of our lives have changed in that time – for the better of course.

In March, I started brainstorming ideas on how to celebrate this milestone birthday. Rent a hall? Expensive and a lot of planning. Dinner with friends at a restaurant? Possibly. Party at our house? Overwhelming. BBQ/Bonfire at Steve’s parents’ farm? Done.

Steve had many-a-bonfire with his friends at his parents place through high school and university; so I thought it would be fun for him to relive those youthful times on his 30th. After checking with his parents, they gave me the go ahead and I started planning.

I had a guest list of about 22 people including us, not including some of the little kiddies we had running around. I grabbed some hamburgers, hot dogs, salads and drinks, and left it up to the guests to BYOB. The whole week leading up to Saturday I was stressing because meteorologists kept changing the forecast. Rain. No rain. Rain. No rain. In the end, it didn’t rain, it was a little chilly, but we saw the sun and it turned out great.

DSC_0597

DSC_0596

DSC_0600

DSC_0605

DSC_0603

DSC_0602

DSC_0617

I ordered his cake from Marble Slab Creamery. It was DELICIOUS. I went with the Choco-Coffee cake, which was a coffee-ice cream cake with caramel, and chunks of skor and snickers bar – HUGE chunks. It was amazing, and the coffee flavour wasn’t overwhelming. Success.

DSC_0606

DSC_0609

All in all, it was a great time and Steve was completely surprised. I blind-folded him on the way there, so he had no idea where we were going.

DSC_0590

DSC_0611

DSC_0618

Operation Surprise Party = SUCCESS!

Leave a Reply

