Maxton’s Big Boy Room – Part III

I am SO HAPPY to say that Maxton’s room is done, and he is currently fast asleep in his crib, in his new room! It’s the first night, so I am hoping he sleeps through, and maybe even sleeps in?…

We have been really pumping up his “big boy room”, and he seemed excited when we set the crib up and put him in it. He kept running from one end of it to the other. After we did the normal bedtime routine and I asked him if he was ready to get into bed he said: “No. Dat one der.” (that one there), and pointed to the door of his room. Broke my heart. Eventually he was okay, and snuggled up with his two favourite blankets. Fingers crossed!

I am not going to share the big reveal in this post, I will share in a couple of days. I haven’t had a chance to take pictures of it completed. Steve literally finished moving his crib and glider in at 7pm, tonight.

So, my last post showed you the chair rail, and the paint above it. DSC_0795 The shade of blue on the upper part of the wall was left over paint from Maxton’s washroom. The colour actually looks different in his room because of the natural light. We had just enough paint and I was happy with the colour. For the lower part of the wall, we chose a darker shade of blue, something that was both juvenile and mature. photo31 Although the shade does not look that dark, I was anticipating/hoping it would go on darker than it looked – which it did. DSC_0801 I am very pleased with how both colours turned out. Next came the curtains. Black-out curtains were a must. I was hoping to find light grey ones, but the price point was too much. I finally settled on dark blue; and although I was concerned at first it would be too much blue, I am very happy with my decision, after seeing it all put together. DSC_0804 The curtain rods I got for $16 each, which is a pretty good deal, and the curtains were $20/panel, but I am still not sure on the length.

I couldn’t purchase floor length curtains because the windows are too small and it would look strange. This is the shortest length I could find, and I am still debating whether or not I should hem them a little shorter… I cannot wait to share the reveal with you!

DSC_0815

I had to snap a quick picture of his last night in the nursery. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

