36 Weeks

We are in the home stretch – I can’t believe I am already 36 weeks!

We have been very busy getting into “baby mode”. We have brought up all of the baby furniture from the basement, with the exception of the play yard – which will get done in the next few days. The bouncer chair is washed and ready, the swing is set up, the bassinet is ready, and Steve assembled the crib last night.

The car seat base is in the car, my bags are packed and so are the baby’s. At least if the baby arrives early, we are “ready”.

What am I feeling? I am feeling anxious and nervous about the C-section, and about the change in our family dynamic. I am hoping Maxton adjusts to having a little baby in the house, and that I am able to meet each of their needs, without any feelings of neglect. I know it will be hard, but each will deserve 100% of my attention. I want Maxton’s routines to remain the same, and for him to still have all of the Mommy and Daddy time that he deserves.

I am feeling lots of pressure these days, and sleeping isn’t the greatest. I have a lot of Braxton Hicks at night and if I am not experiencing those, it’s a calf cramp, back pain, hip pain or just plain old insomnia. I am always hot – even with the air conditioning and ceiling fan. Steve wraps himself in sheets and blankets, and I am hot in shorts and a tank top.

I plan for this to be my second last post, as my C-section is scheduled sometime between 38 and 40 weeks (no, I am still not sharing the date); but, baby could always come before then too. Hopefully I will have one more pregnancy post to share with you.

So here I am at 36 weeks, please excuse the pj’s.

DSC_0847

Oddly enough I haven’t really talked about the nursery at all. The focus has been Maxton’s room, mostly because the nursery was done. I will share our neutral nursery with you later this week.

I have an OB appointment tomorrow – she may do a “guesstimate” of the weight which I am looking forward to hearing, as well as how big I am measuring at this point. I am a little afraid…

I am carrying much lower than I did with Maxton, and am more “pointy”, if that makes sense.

36 weeks this pregnancy vs 36 weeks pregnant with Maxton

36 weeks this pregnancy vs 36 weeks pregnant with Maxton

A lot of people have been asking me what I think the gender of the baby is. I had a feeling Maxton was a boy for most of the pregnancy. This time I am thinking the baby is a girl. My “mother’s intuition” has a 50% chance of being correct, so I am just going to go with it. Ha-ha. We will find out soon enough.

Not much longer now.

4 weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

