Tea Time for ONE!

The weekend before Everly’s first birthday, we had a tea party for her at our home. As a little girl, I loved having little tea parties. I am sure she will enjoy having them too, and figured I might as well start her young. Right?

I did a lot of prep work beforehand, and it still felt like I was running around like a chicken with my head cut-off, the morning of.

DSC_0872

DSC_0722DSC_0738

The pom-poms I made myself out of tissue paper – they were super easy to make (I will post on how to make them soon). The banner I also made out of scrapbook paper, and the balloons were ordered from Party City.

DSC_0746 DSC_0747

The first birthday stat board was surprisingly easy to make, and fun! I purchased a piece of white foam board from Michaels for $4.99, and covered it with black chalk board paint. I also purchased some chalk board markers, which were $19.99 but I had a 40% off coupon (for Michaels). I planned out the design on a piece of paper, and in some places I sketched it out lightly in pencil first. It turned out pretty good!

DSC_0744DSC_0743

The tea cups and saucers were one of my favourite parts. One of them was Steve’s grandma’s, which I chose from her collection when she passed away; and the other three are my Baba’s, and I chose them when my mom packed up my Baba’s belongings before she moved in with my Mom. (The spoons are also hers.)

DSC_0734 DSC_0733 DSC_0729 DSC_0730

The plates/napkins and cutlery were from Dollarama, the paper straws I got at Target, and the candy I purchased from Bulk Barn. I thought it was a classic touch to put them in my fine china (which never gets used). After all, it’s a tea party; might as well be fancy!

DSC_0732 DSC_0731

The shortbread I made myself, and picked up the cookie-cutters at Michaels. The Raspberry Jam Thumb-Print Cookies I also made from scratch and they were a big hit! I will be posting the recipe for that as well. The best part about them was the jam was homemade!

DSC_0728 DSC_0727 DSC_0726

Oh the cupcakes…mmm. I also made these myself, the night before her party. I feel like it was a bit ambitious to use coloured icing as it was more time-consuming to make separate batches of buttercream, but it was definitely worth it! The piping turned out alright – overall, I was quite pleased with how they turned out, and I think the tea party guests would agree!

I still wanted Everly to have a full-sized cake, at least for her first birthday. I found a local home-based cake business by the name of “Not A Cupcake” and she made an amazing tea-pot cake. It was much larger than I was expecting and I really didn’t need to make the cupcakes, but it was fun to have both. The cake only cost $40, and she threw in a free “smash cake” for her (details on that to come). I was so impressed with it – she did an amazing job on the design, and it was delicious!

DSC_0750DSC_0783DSC_0784DSC_0786

I wonder what was going through her little head…

A few more pictures of the afternoon…

DSC_0800DSC_0812DSC_0810DSC_0811DSC_0814DSC_0854DSC_0861DSC_0869

It was a great birthday tea party!

 

5 thoughts on “Tea Time for ONE!

  1. Pingback: Not-So Cake Smash | Mama's Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

