Kitchen Desk Organization

Having a desk in the kitchen has both perks and downfalls. Lately, the one in my kitchen has become a major source of clutter and junk collection. Everything from a radio, to a laptop, to notes from Maxton’s school, to mail – you name it. It’s so easy to just toss things and go which often leaves me in a mad panic in the morning as I search for Maxton’s milk envelope, permission slip, or my cheque book. There is no designated “office” in the house, so that doesn’t help matters.

DSC_0732
Horrible, right? Well I decided it was time to organize this small space. As you can see, there isn’t a whole lot to work with. The desk is in between the counter, and the floor to ceiling pantry-cupboards so it’s not a true office desk, and I wanted to be careful to not stray away too much from the kitchen-feel. Here is what I came up with:

DSC_0738 DSC_0739 DSC_0746

Like I said, nothing much, but it has made a world of difference. I’m not a huge fan of having the radio/iPad dock there, but it comes in handy and I use the radio every day.

DSC_0744
I picked this up at Home Sense for $19.99 and thought it was a real steal. I loved the colour and the overall design. Each slot sits at a different height to hold various types of paper.

DSC_0745
This letter sorter I also got at Home Sense for $7.99! It was a great deal and I love the colour and pattern. It adds a nice pop of colour to this corner.

DSC_0743

I needed something to hold a few pens and a pair of scissors so I just used a mason jar that I already had.

Nothing too fancy, just a little organization for under $30. 2016 may just be my year to organize!

 

Leave a Reply

